So, What’s the End Game Here?

Olivia Pope couldn’t have said it better when she said that she asks all her clients the same question: “What’s your end game?”  I find that I ask myself this question often with my writing.  What’s my end game?  When the dust settles and the smoke  clears, what do I want to be known for?  Do I want to  be famous,  do I want to be a NY Times best seller?  Do I want to win a Pulitzer?  What is Whitney’s end game with writing?

Image result for olivia pope what's your endgame

Honestly, I don’t really know.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to be a well-known author, with a NY Times best seller, and all the accolades that come with that?  Exactly.  I would love for my talent to take me places I could never even fathom of going; but I also am such a humble soul, that if I could touch just one person, or inspire one person to go for their own goals or even embark on a writing journey, I feel like I have done a good deed as a creative (never thought of myself being an inspiration, but if I am, then heeeey!).

My overall end game; if the above doesn’t happen, is to make people happy with my writing, and give other writers and women of color the opportunity to publish themselves.  This is the main reason why I write, and this is why I research and educate myself on how to expand my talents to owning a publishing company one day.

I want to be able to give women of color the opportunity to grow and develop and become the writers they would like to be.  In more regard to my writing, I just love writing and I want to do it for the rest of my life.  Will I be famous only amongst my family and friends, or a worldwide super-writer?  Only God can tell me that, because He knows the path He has set out for me and this journey.  I had my own personal goals of publishing my own book, and I am doing more than I ever expected with projecting to publish 3 more projects that I have written just from that one seed that was planted with Playing with Fire.  I am overflowing with happiness based on that one goal alone; and now, I want to go into a business that will allow me to help others achieve this dream as well.

So, if you were to ask me what my end game was?  To be doing something I love and to be successful, by my standards.  So far, I’m already achieving that goal.

 

One thought on “So, What’s the End Game Here?

Leave a Reply

