In All Seriousness

In all seriousness, writing is a painful passion that I love to endure. It’s like a marriage; some days are wonderful and some days you want to pull your hair out from the frustration, but in the end, you stick it out because you know that the good outweighs the bad.

In all seriousness, writing is actually one of the most difficult tasks you could take on.  When I was younger writing poetry, I always thought it would be easier for me to try my hand at writing because I was already doing it.  Once I became more and more interested in wanting to write full-time one day, I began to come to the realization that the skills, tools, and even the work itself is so vastly different, and requires several different steps to master.  All in all, writing is a grave undertaking and you have to be ready to accept it.  I’m sure that for the untrained eye, one could look at a writer and think that this is something that comes naturally for them to do; knock out a book in no time, but it is not that simple.  Some writers have an innate gift to write effortlessly, and some take years to master that ability.

In all seriousness, I have wanted to quit while I am ahead on more times than I have been motivated to write.  There are days where I can sit down and the inspiration comes and other days when I’m staring at the screen dumbfounded on what to say.  Most times, writers have other responsibilities (jobs, children, families) and writing has to take a backseat to those things.  Writing takes planning and a lot of commitment; some that a lot of people are not ready to take on full or part-time.

So, in all seriousness, don’t worry if you have days that you want to give up in being a writer.  Don’t be ashamed to say it sucks, or don’t fret when you don’t hit your word count.  You’re not alone in your emotions.  We all have our days when we don’t feel our craft is valued; we don’t feel that we contribute to the everyday lifestyle of a creative.  I say this to say, we are all creatives, we are all artists in our own right, we all have a gift.  Sometimes we cannot move mountains, but we can write a bomb ass story about one, 🙂 .

 

Leave a Reply

